How to start?
  • Hi, I'm a designer with a little bit technical background.

I'm trying to send command over CoolTerm on mac. CANBus Triple is connected to the OBDII of my car and the USB port connected to my mac.

What do I suppose to send?

I tried "0x01", "0x0101","0x011001" no one works. The terminal doesn't print out any information.

What make up a command? How do I use <a href="http://docs.canb.us/firmware/api.html">http://docs.canb.us/firmware/api.html</a> to create a command?

Please help!

Thanks a lot!

• I think you send it as ASCII. You must send it as HEX without the 0x in Front.

• thank you ichraffsnicht! Now I'm able to send command!

However, I have another question.

Is there any way to understand the data? When I send command to "Dump eeprom value"(not sure what it means exactly), I got a bunch of Hex data. Are they the current data running through CanBus? How do I make sense of them?

• Have you read this: https://www.canb.us/getting-started

These part:
    Send 0x0101 to get general device information.
    Send 0x011001 to get CAN Bus 1 information.
    Send 0x011002 to get CAN Bus 2 information.
    Send 0x011003 to get CAN Bus 3 information.

The eeprom is the memory, where the Programm is stored.

• Hey Yishi, and anyone else this can help ;)

I am going to make the assumption you just got your CBT and you are wanting to hook it up to the OBD port of your car and read out all the data that is flying around on that CAN bus.

<b>My recommendations:</b>

1. Connect the CBT with the OBD cable you got.
    2. Issue the "01 10 01" command. This will print out the status of Ch1
      You should see "0" errors. However you will likely see errors "b".
      This means there was a baud rate error.
    3. If you get the baud rate error, go and edit the code where it says "CANBus1.baudConfig(cbt_settings.busCfg[0].baud);" to be "CANBus1.baudConfig(500);" or what ever your baud rate is. Note this value is in kbps i.e. 500 means 500 kbit/sec